Spirals [Deep House/Nu Jazz Mixes EP] – vinyl and digital

Posted on
Spirals [Deep House/Nu Jazz Mixes EP] - cover front




01 – the MIMIKOTO project – Spirals – 4:13


02 – the MIMIKOTO project – Vacuum (Club Version) – 6:52


03 – the MIMIKOTO project – Intergalactic Super Hero – 3:22


04 – the MIMIKOTO project – Spirals (Club Version) – 7:05



„Spirals“ goes back to the roots of jazz, funk, and disco and brings elements of these music streams into house music. In the appearance of swing, jazz was originally a dance music genre, which later developed in many directions. Various other genres were born from it. Even electronic music streams like house belong to those genres.

Spirals [Deep House/Nu Jazz Mixes EP] - cover front
Spirals [Deep House/Nu Jazz Mixes EP] – cover front
Bearing this in mind, „Spirals“ connects different points in the history of these genres. Bringing this fusion to life, the MIMIKOTO project works with electronic elements (analogue synths, drum computers, electronic modulations) as well as acoustic instruments (saxophones, keys, trumpet, bass, drums and percussions).

Spirals [Deep House/Nu Jazz Mixes EP] - cover back
Spirals [Deep House/Nu Jazz Mixes EP] – cover back
The MIMIKOTO project was founded in 2019 by Fabio Kumori as a collective of musicians related to jazz, funk, soul and electronic music, after a certain period of composing and playing as duo, trio and quartet. One of the central goals of the MIMIKOTO project is to include people from different backgrounds – to be inclusive regarding the music and the musicians themselves.

May the sound of „Spirals“ be a social room in which everyone is invited to participate, and may this idea be spread everywhere where it will be played.


House, Jazz-House, Nu Jazz, Funk-House, Sax House, Disco, Funk, Fusion, Electronic Jazz, Jazz-Funk, Deep House, Detroit


Fabio Kumori – synths, electric bass through bass synth, percussions

Joel Huettel – tenor sax

Johannes Schwarting – alto sax with efx

Insa Gaidt – alto sax

Igor Grabez – trumpet

Swann Pfeiffer – drums

David Adu-Appeagyei – keys


Distributed by wordandsound